24889 Aurora Rd
Bedford Heights, Cuyahoga County 44146
USA

©2016 by PublicSafetyDrivingSchool.com. 

Teen Driver

Adult Driver 

Teens 15 ½ – 18 years of age are required by the state of Ohio to receive 24 hours of classroom driving lessons and 8 hours behind the wheel training.

The 24 hours of classroom instruction are divided into 6 classes that are 4 hours each. 

Arrive no sooner than 5 – 10 minutes prior to class start time. Students must attend all classes at the same location.

Bring notebook paper and pencil to class.

Driving training is offered to adults who are new to driving, need a refresher driving courses.

The complete adult driving program consists of 8 hours behind-the-wheel training. This is completed in 4 days for 2 hours each day.  We Also offer Abbreviated classes for adults.  

Probationary License

You'll be able to move on to the next step of the Ohio BMV GDL program by obtaining your probationary license if you:

  • Are at least 16 years old.

  • Have had your temporary instruction permit for at least 6 months.

  • Have the certificate proving you completed an OH driver's education course.

  • Have completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving with 10 hours completed at night and submit a Fifty Hour Affidavit(Form BMV 5791).

Once you meet the requirements above, contact the Ohio BMV to schedule your driving test, or schedule one online.

For the driving test, you must:

  • Provide your own car.

  • Bring your Driver's Ed certificate of completion.

  • Pass both the driving and maneuverability portions of the test.

    • If you're 18 years old or older and fail the test, you MUST take an abbreviated driver's training course before attempting the test again. 

After you pass the BMV road test, submit the following to your local Ohio deputy registrar office:

  • Your OH learner's permit.

  • Payment for your first-time probationary driver's license fee (cash, check, or money order) As you can see below, due to Ohio driving laws 16 year old drivers pay slightly more for their licenses:

  • 16 years old: $24.25. 

  • 17 years old: $23.

  • 18 years old: $21.75

Driving Restrictions

During the first 12 months of holding a probationary Ohio driver's license, you may:

After the first 12 months, if you're under 18 years old, you may:

Full Unrestricted Ohio Driver License

You must follow the Ohio BMV probationary license driving restrictions until you are at least 18 years old. See “Ohio GDL Program & Restrictions" above for details. When you turn 18 years old, these driving restrictions will be lifted and your probationary driver's license will convert to a full, unrestricted OH driver's license. Track and share your progress when you follow our new license checklist for Ohio.

 

Abbreviated classes for adults

Starting July 1, 2017, adults age 18 years and older who have never held a driver license before and who fail their first attempt at the maneuverability and/or road test are required to take an Abbreviated Adult Training Course.

 

If you failed the road test and/or maneuverability test you need to complete:

  • 4 hours of our online course (you can take it with us) OR

  • 4 hours of classroom education 
    AND

  • 4 hours of driving with a licensed instructor OR

  • 24 hours of driving with a licensed driver, 21 years and older